Book Review

Book Review | Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

5680584_orig

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.(via Goodreads)

 

 


Title: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Published: May 3, 2011 (originally published May 4, 2010)

Published by: Simon & Schuster

Rating: 5 stars

Review: I’ve heard nothing but good things about Morgan Matson and it really bothered me that I hadn’t read anything by her. So I thought I’d take care of that this summer. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour was such a fantastic read. I loved everything about it. I fell in love with the characters rather quickly and it didn’t take me long to wish they would become a couple. I love road trip books and this one is no exception. What made this book really unique and what made it really stand out was that it had little road trip goodies inside. It had copies of Amy and Roger’s receipts, pictures of their trip, drawings, road trip playlists, etc. It really made the book feel like more than a book. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour did have some sad elements to it, but I think it helped give the characters more depth.

I loved the writing and thought it was super breezy. When Amy finally opens up to Roger about her father’s death I actually got chills throughout my body. The writing during that scene was amazing and felt so real. I love when I’m reading a book and it feels like I’ve only been reading for a few minutes but I’ve actually been reading for about an hour and I’ve read about 50+ pages. I definitely felt that way with Amy & Roger. I’m upset that I waited so long to read a Morgan Matson book but I’m happy I’ve read one of her books now and I can’t wait to read other books by her in the (hopefully) near future.

Buy this book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

7 thoughts on “Book Review | Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson”

  1. I felt the same way. 🙂 It is really a book that makes the time stop, I finished reading it in one sitting and Ioved it. ❤ It is a light read and I felt that the pictures of the receipts, bills, playlists and what nots' give a realistic touch to the book. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

