Book Review

Book Review | Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

3143160_orig

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? (via Goodreads)

 


Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Published: June 5, 2012 (originally published May 24, 2012) by Crown Publisher

Note: This book is an adult book and contains some pretty strong profanity. If that’s something you’re bothered by then I don’t recommend this book to you.

Rating: 3 stars

Review: I almost didn’t finish this book several times due to the fact that I felt very emotionally detached from the characters. I usually like books that have switching point of views but there was something about it in this book that actually got on my nerves. Actually, every character in Gone Girl got on my nerves with the exception of Go. I didn’t like that the switching point of views were set during different time frames at first and I didn’t really like how neither of our narrators were reliable.

However, I am happy I continued reading because this book is full with one plot twist after another and a few of them are plot twists that I didn’t see coming. Once I got about halfway through the book I became increasingly interested in the disappearance of Amy and I wanted to know where she was and who took her. I actually found myself somewhat enjoying the book. I kept coming up with all of these theories about what happened. I liked that the mystery wasn’t easy enough for me to figure out within the first couple of chapters. While I did guess some plot points before they happened, I never really guessed the big picture; even though I sorta figured the ending, I didn’t imagine it would go down like that.

However, my biggest complaint with Gone Girl is how it was written, honestly. It was written so slow and so boring. The author does a fantastic job of creating characters that are truly screwed up, but Gillian Flynn’s writing is entirely too descriptive for my taste and I feel like she drug the book out longer than it had to be. That’s the main reason it got 3 stars. I do want to pick up Flynn’s other books, because the stories seem interesting, however I’m not rushing to pick them up considering I’m not a huge fan of the way she writes.

Buy this book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn”

  1. This book thoroughly psyched me out. Amy’s a proper psycho, and Nick’s a dumb twat. I just sat there after I finished it and tried to wrap my head around how screwed up the characters were. Have you seen the movie?

    Like

    1. I agree, the author does a fantastic job of writing screwed up characters. I just felt she dragged on too much. I have seen the movie, and honestly I wasn’t real impressed with that either. The actors were good, especially the actors that played Amy’s parents – they looked exactly how I pictured them. I guess it was just the story line itself that I just didn’t click with. Have you seen it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve got little siblings, so I’ve had to watch it whenever they’re in bed, so I’ve been watching parts of it in snatches. I know what you mean though, it doesn’t really grab you the way the book does.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

