Fun Stuff

If You Seen The Movie You Probably Don’t Need To Read The Book

If you’re like me you like to read the book before you see the movie, but sometimes you just can’t wait that long. Or sometimes you see a movie and didn’t even know it was based on a book (I hate when that happens). So here’s my list of book-to-movie adaptations that are so spot on to the book, that if you seen it rather than read it, you’re pretty much in the clear.

(Please keep in mind that these are just opinions and not at all facts 🙂 )


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was published September 1st, 2005. The movie was released on November 27, 2013. I’ve read and seen both of them and completely enjoyed them both. The movie was exactly what I was hoping for and was very true to the book.


Twilight by Stephenie Meyer was published October 5, 2005. The movie was released November 21, 2008. I felt all the movies followed the books pretty honestly and, despite what the vast majority think, I think Kirsten Stewart played Bella very true to her character.


The Fault in Our Stars by John Green was published January 10, 2012. The movie was released June 6, 2014. The good part is that the movie was true to the book. 🙂 The bad part was that the movie was true to the book. 😦


The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Shephen Chbosky was published on February 1, 1999. The movie was released on September 21, 2012. Although I liked the book just a tiny bit more, the movie was very honest to the book. They picked fantastic actors to play Sam, Patrick, and Charlie.


The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton was published April 24, 1967. The movie was released on March 25, 1983. I read the book after I seen the movie. There are some small differences, and some scenes were cut out of the movie, but the movie remained pretty loyal to the book.


Carrie by Stephen King was published April 5, 1974. The movie was released November 3, 1976. I don’t read Stephen King but my mom does. She said that the original ’76 movie is spot on to the book.


Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson was published October 1999. The movie was released January 10, 2004. This another Kirsten Stewart film adaptation that I feel she acted really well in. She captured the main character Melinda perfectly.


The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp was published on October 20, 2008. The movie was released on August 2, 2013. Not only do I think you don’t have to read the book if you’ve seen the movie, I actually don’t recommend it. I thought the movie was better than the book, but that’s just my opinion.


Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz was published in 2003. The movie was released on February 14, 2014. This is other book that put on here by recommendation of my mom. She said the movie was exactly like that book, so if you seen the movie (pst, it’s on Netflix 😉 ) than you really don’t have to read the book!


That’s all the book-to-movie adaptations I could think of that were close to their movies – that I’ve seen / read anyway. What book-to-movie adaptations did you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

