Book Review

Book Review | A Whole New World by Liz Braswell

24397040

Welcome to a new YA series that reimagines classic Disney stories in surprising new ways. Each book asks the question: What if one key moment from a familiar Disney film was changed? This dark and daring version of Aladdin twists the original story with the question: What if Jafar was the first one to summon the Genie?

When Jafar steals the Genie’s lamp, he uses his first two wishes to become sultan and the most powerful sorcerer in the world. Agrabah lives in fear, waiting for his third and final wish.To stop the power-mad ruler, Aladdin and the deposed Princess Jasmine must unite the people of Agrabah in rebellion. But soon their fight for freedom threatens to tear the kingdom apart in a costly civil war.

What happens next? A Street Rat becomes a leader. A princess becomes a revolutionary. And readers will never look at the story of Aladdin in the same way again. (via Goodreads)


Title: A Whole New World (Twisted Tales #1)

Author: Liz Braswell

Published: September 1, 2015 by Disney Press

Note: I received an early copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 2 stars

Review: For some reason it’s hard for me to review this book. When I first received this book I was super excited – Jasmine is my favorite Disney princess, and I’ve been eagerly waiting for there to be an Aladdin retelling. When I started reading I realized that all the author did was write the movie as a book, almost verbatim, except Jafar finding Genie first was her only personal twist. Granted that’s what the description says the book is, it’s not exactly what I was hoping for. I guess I was just hoping for it to deviate from the true story a little bit.

I didn’t really care for the writing style of the book. I can’t really explain it but something out the way the book was written just didn’t sit well with me. I think this book would be better fit for a younger audience, because that’s how it was written. It felt more middle grade than young adult.

I liked the characters, I mean of course I liked them; I just said Aladdin was my favorite Disney princess movie. I’m not unhappy with the book, and it’s not that I disliked it, it just wasn’t what I was looking for and I wasn’t that impressed.

Even though the idea of one small thing changing the course of the story is an interesting idea, I don’t think I’ll be keeping up with this series.

Buy the book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

1 thought on “Book Review | A Whole New World by Liz Braswell”

Leave a Reply

