Book Review

Book Review | The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

22929578

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist. (via Goodreads)


Title: The Fixer (The Fixer #1)

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Published: July 7, 2015 by Bloomsbury USA

Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: I love Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ writing so much. I fell in love with her writing after I read the first two books in The Naturals series, so naturally I had to pick up The Fixer ASAP. I was definitely not disappointed. A young adult political thriller from an author I love? Uh, yes please! It was everything I could have wanted.

I liked Tess, the main character, right away, which is great. I also liked Bodie and Vivvie right away, too. I went back and forth on whether or not I liked Asher and Emilia, but I do like Asher and Tess together. Sometimes the supporting characters were just fantastic. I was very interested in Ivy and what she was all about and I loved figuring out her secrets. I thought it was enjoyable watching Tess and Ivy trying to work through their past struggles. And that twist towards the end, with Tess and Ivy, oh my God! I never would have guessed that!

The writing was gripping and entertaining. I was just flying through the pages dying to know what came next. I couldn’t wait to figure out how all the characters were connected to each other and I couldn’t wait to uncover the secrets and the lies. This is my first time reading a political thriller but I’m definitely interested in reading others.

I can’t wait to read the second book, and I’m definitely going to try to get my hands on Jennifer’s other books. 🙂

Buy this book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

1 thought on “Book Review | The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes”

Leave a Reply

