Book Review

Book Review | Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes by Jules Moulin

ahhss

When a buttoned-up professor and her unbuttoned daughter fall for the same irresistible man, a delightful, subversive comedy begins. . . .

Life isn’t easy for single mother Ally Hughes. Teaching at Brown, her class load is huge and her boss is a menace. At home, she contends with a critical mother, a falling-down house, and a daughter who never misses a beat. Between taking care of the people she loves, teaching full time, and making ends meet, Ally doesn’t have time for a man. She doesn’t date. She’s not into flings. But then she meets Jake, an eager student, young in years but old in soul, who challenges his favorite professor to open up her life, and her heart, to love. It doesn’t work. In fact, his urging backfires.

Ten years later, Ally’s still single. Jake reappears and surprises her in a brand-new role: He’s dating Ally’s now-grown daughter. In this hilarious, heartrending tale, Ally is finally forced to concede (not only to herself) that an independent, “liberated” woman can still make room in her life for love. (via Goodreads)


Title: Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes

Author: Jules Moulin

Published: August 25, 2015 by Dutton

Note: I got an advanced copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes is Jules Moulin’s debut novel. I’m not sure what I was expecting from this novel but I enjoyed it. I thought it was funny and cute and tastefully sexy.

The story is told from too different parts, the past when Ally was with Jake and the present now that Lizzie is with Jake. It’s just as crazy as you think it is. I feel like the description of the book is wrong though, because Lizzie is never really with Jake; Jake uses her to see Ally again. Which I thought was a little weird, but eh, I’ll that slide for the sake of the story. I liked the writing though. I liked watching the direction the story was taking. The story was equal parts sexy and funny. I feel like you have to cut an author some slack when it comes to their debut novels because they’re still trying to find their voice, but I’d say Jules Moulin has it.

I thought Ally as a main character was great. The conversation she had on the phone after she found out who Lizzie was dating was hilarious. I liked Lizzie’s character too; she was snarky and I like snarky characters. Jake was a good character but I felt he was a littlee too unbelievable at times.

This was a very fast paced read and very light and fluffy. It’s exactly what I was in the mood for reading.

Buy this book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

1 thought on “Book Review | Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes by Jules Moulin”

Leave a Reply

