Fun Stuff

Bookish Pet Peeves

I was looking at my bookshelf and scrolling around on Goodreads when I noticed some things that actually really irked me about books. I thought it would be sort of fun to make a blog post about my bookish pet peeves.

1. Cover changes halfway through the series

Like, really? Are you serious? I don’t mind if the covers change after the series is complete and they want to reissue the books. But I hate it when they have to go and change them halfway through the series. Because now my covers don’t match. And I am angry.

2. Movie covers on books

Again, really? Are you going to use the book cover as the movie poster? Then don’t use the movie poster as a book cover, please and thank you.

3. Ghost writers

This bothers me because I don’t like reading books if I don’t know who wrote them. I feel like the author of the book should always be given credit. If you don’t have the ability to write a book, then don’t write a book. (I’m looking at you Zoe Sugg, aka Zoella)

4. Not having the series in the same format

If I start the series in hardcover than I need the rest of the series in hardcover. Same thing if I start a series in paperback or on my Kindle.

5. When the last book in the series is smaller than the other books in the series

This is probably me just being anal but I always feel like the last book in a series should be the biggest, or decently sized, because more often than not it has a lot of loose ends to tie up. I’m always afraid that since it’s small it might be rushed.

6. Love triangles / squares / octagons

Okay, the octagon part was me being sarcastic but I hate love triangles. I’ve never read a book where I enjoyed the love triangle – not even in The Infernal Devices series. They’re just really old and tedious and annoying. Why can’t one boy like one girl?

7. Hard to pronounce names or places

All I’m asking for is a pronunciation guide in the front or back of the book. I don’t think that’s a huge request.

8. When the back of the book is just review snippets or a quote of the book

With hardcovers it’s okay because a synopsis of the book is usually in the front flap of the dust jacket. But paperbacks leave me generally cluless as to what the book is about. I’ve seen this done before and it really upsets me because I don’t care about what Kirkus Reviews has to say about the book; I want to know what it’s about.

Do we share any bookish pet peeves?

12 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves”

  1. You got the feels, girl! 🙂 These are all my pet peeves. Ghost writer being my biggest. Like, come on man, do you even know how much commitment writing a book requires? the hardwork, the hours of penning it down (or typing) and what do they get in return? No credit? It makes me angry and sad. :/ And what about the person who has their name on the book… they had money so they went out and bought someone else’s work. -_-

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG THIS IS SO FREAKING RELATEABLE!
    First of all love triangles NEVER HAPPEN in real life, like not just in my own life, but in the lives’ of people I know, none of them have been battled over by two lovers who are desperately trying to win their heart like wtf? And if love TRIANGLES aren’t realistic, then love OCTAGONS are extinct. No one has 8 people chasing for their affection!
    So I’m reading Throne of Glass and the names/places there are the freaking hardest things ever. Celaena Sardothien. Dorian Havilliard. Chaol Westfall. Erilea. Endovier. What. The. Hell.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy that you find this relatable! That’s so good to hear. I agree with what you’re saying too. I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet but I started reading ACOTAR and I thought Fayre’s name was pronounced “fair” but it’s actually pronounce “fay-ruh”. Insane lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

