Book Review

Series Review | If I Stay series by Gayle Forman

Titles: If I Stay, Where She Went

Series: If I Stay

Author: Gayle Forman

Published: 2009 – 2011 by Speak

Overall Rating: 4 stars

Separate Ratings: If I Stay (4), Where She Went (3)

Review: If I Stay is about a cellist named Mia Hall who gets into a nasty car accident that ends up taking the life of her mom, dad, and little brother. Mia is the narrator of the story, and she tells us stories of her life that lead up to her decision to either let go and go be with her family,  or to stay for the people she has left. If I Stay was very unique to me because I’ve never read a book where the character was telling the story through an out of body experience. I really enjoyed the book. It was my first Gayle Forman book and I instantly fell in love and got used to her writing style. I liked all of the characters, especially Mia and Adam, Mia’s boyfriend. Gayle Forman’s writing really made me feel for Mia, and really made me feel for her loss. While it didn’t make me cry, If I Stay really pulls on the heartstrings. I read this book fairly quickly, and it was a very fast paced and breezy read, which I really enjoyed.

Where She Went is about what happens to Adam and Mia three years after Mia’s accident. It’s told from Adam’s perspective instead of Mia’s. The book was good, but just not as good as If I Stay. I found Adam to be more annoying in this book, whereas I liked him a lot in If I Stay. Of course I felt for Adam, but his brooding and self-loathing got old quick.The writing style was quite the same; it was quick and breezy. Where She Went was my third Gayle Forman book, so by now I’m pretty used to her writing style, and I honestly love it. I was pretty hesitant to read this book at first because I knew that it changed to Adam’s perspective but I ended up enjoying Adam’s thoughts enough to like the book. I just found Where She Went to be a little pointless though. I didn’t really see the need for it; I liked the way If I Stay ended. I go back and forth with this one, but although I found it a little irrelevant I did enjoy it. Hence why it got 3 stars.

Overall, I enjoyed these books very much and I feel like they definitely deserve four stars.

Buy these books: If I Stay | Where She Went

6 thoughts on “Series Review | If I Stay series by Gayle Forman”

  1. Nice review! For me I couldn’t really bring myself to appreciate the strange ethereal experience (because I found it kind of slow), but I’m glad you enjoyed it! Have you seen the movie?

    Like

      1. I have. As far as I could remember it was pretty true to the book. To me, it was kind of disappointing because I loved the trailer but then the movie was sort of monotonous, but there were definitely beautiful moments in it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

