Book Review

Book Review | Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

23305614

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family. (via Goodreads)


Title: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Published: June 9th 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Rating: 4 stars

Review: I’ve never read a Sophie Kinsella book so I didn’t really know what to expect from Finding Audrey, but I ended up really enjoying it.

Usually I have a hard time connecting to characters that are a bit young (Audrey is 14 in this book) but the writing made it quite easy to relate and sympathize with Audrey. I liked that the book made references to pop culture, because I felt like that helped make the book more real. I thought that Audrey’s anxiety disorder was both heartbreaking and interesting to read about. I felt it was written about in a very appropriate manner and that Kinsella really captured what it’s like to have social anxiety. I liked Audrey’s character a whole lot, I felt her to be very relatable. I liked the banter between Audrey’s brother, Frank, and their mother quite a bit. I felt like it gave the story some much needed comic relief that wasn’t over the top. I also liked Audrey’s little brother, Felix, and their relationship. I didn’t care much for Audrey’s dad, I felt he was a little okay. I liked him better towards the end.

When I first started reading Finding Audrey I was worried that it was going to be one of those books where the main character has an issue/mental illness and then their love interest came along and viola they’re all better. That wasn’t the case with Audrey and Linus. Linus really helped Audrey overcome her anxiety in a completely healthy way. I was both surprised and pleased by this. I felt like all of Linus’ actions where justified and appropriate, and he’s pretty much exactly what I would expect from a 15/16 year old boy.

I enjoyed watching Audrey’s road to recovery and I really liked her therapist Dr. Sarah. I thought she was a great character. I liked the parts where Audrey made amends with her best friend Natalie and when she went to make amends with one of her former bullies, Izzy. I thought Audrey seeing Izzy was a great scene and I loved how Frank was there for Audrey.

Overall, I really liked this story and I hope to read more by Sophie Kinsella in the future.

Buy this book from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

10 thoughts on “Book Review | Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella”

  1. I’ve read Kinsella’s Shopoholic books, but this one seems really interesting actually…I might see if i can get a copy to read 🙂 Great review.

    Like

  2. This book was my first Sophie Kinsella book as well, and I found it to be very good! Although I guess I kind of have to say it wasn’t exactly what I expected, in how the anxiety was portrayed and things, but I still liked the book. ❤ Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

