Award, Fun Stuff

Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Bloggers Award!

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-014

The person who made this logo was Summer over at xingsings.

Thank you so much to Erika for nominating me, I really appreciate it 🙂

Here are the rules:

  • Thank blogger who nominated you, linking back to their blog
  • Put the award logo on your blog
  • Answer the 10 questions sent to you
  • Make up 10 new questions for your nominees to answer
  • Nominate 10 blogs

So let’s begin!

Erika’s Questions:

If you were to be granted three wishes what will be your three wishes be and why? And no, you can’t try to be clever and wish for more wishes. 😉

I would wish for the ability to speed read so that I could read more books in a shorter period of time, I would wish for an unlimited supply of books, and I would wish for the ability to eat whatever I wanted without getting fat, haha.

What book/series do you believe is highly overrated? Underrated?

I feel like The Hunger Games is pretty overrated, but that could just be because I don’t really care for dystopian fiction much. As for underrated I’m going to have to go with Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson. It came out a little while ago, but it’s a fantastic book about a teenager battling an eating disorder.

If you had to choose to live without one of your five senses (see, smell, touch, taste, and hear) which one would you give up and why? (I know this may be tough, but I’m curious as what you would all say)

Definitely hearing. This question was actually a no brainer for me because I’ve had conversations about this with my older cousin. We both agree with hearing because seeing is too important – who wants to be blind? Smell would be unsafe because what if there’s a fire or something like that? Touch would be depressing because you wouldn’t be able to feel someone touching you. Taste would be no good because you wouldn’t be able to taste your favorite foods. All that leaves us with is hearing, and I don’t think it would be too bad to be deaf. There’s a whole deaf community and sign language has always interested me.

What are some of the common tropes in these books that you are tired of seeing? What are some that you absolutely will never get tired of seeing?

I haaaaaate love triangles so much, but I feel like that’s an obvious one so I’m going to go with those asshole boys who are only assholes because they had something horrible happen to them. That’s used a lot and I guess I’m just over the whole “bad boy with a good heart” trope. But I will never get tired of seeing those “friendship turned lovers” or surprise romances. And forbidden love. Those are great.

There’s a saying that ” the book is always better than the movie”.  However, there are rare instances that this may not be the case.  Was there a film adaptation that you thought was much better than the actual book? 

A Wrinkle in Time was a much better movie than it was book.

What makes a book your favorite? Is it the plot, the characters, is it because it changes your life/inspirational, or is it down to memory and circumstance, etc…..

I know a book has become one of my favorite books when after I finish it I close the book, hold it close to my chest, and sigh a deep, happy sigh. Whether that be because the writing was good, the characters were good, etc.

In your opinion who is the worst literary couple ever? 

Hm.. this is a really good question. I’m actually unsure.. I’m going to go with Will and Tessa. I don’t think their relationship is the worst per-say, I just really shipped Tessa with Jem. (Jessa? Tem? I dunno but I shipped it.)

Who is your favorite book villain and why?

Levana from The Lunar Chronicles because she’s absolutely evil.

Imagine living in a society like Fahrenheit 451 where reading is forbidden and books are burned.  Through what lengths will you go to make sure that your books are not burned? Like what would you do to make sure no one finds them? 

I’m kind of chickenshit so I would probably just cry and try to hide just my favorite book. I would probably do something dumb like shove it in my pants or something.

Throughout your whole life, what do you believe has been the greatest advice you ever received?

“The sooner you realize you don’t owe anyone human decency the better off you’ll be.” – My cousin. There’s a really long story behind why he said that too me, but it’s probably something I’ll carry with me for a while.


Questions for my nominees:

  1. Has your blogging experience changed you as a person/reader?
  2. If you could be best friends with any fictional character(s) who would it be and why?
  3. If your book boy/girlfriend suddenly came to life and knocked on your front door, what would you do?
  4. Do you follow any other blogs besides book blogs? (ex. food blogs, travel blogs, etc.)
  5. Do you have any pets?
  6. Nook or Kindle? If you don’t use an eReader then hardcover or paperback?
  7. Do you keep the dust jacket on your book when you read?
  8. Coffee or tea?
  9. Do you own any bookish goodies, such as pins, jewelry, etc.?
  10. Favorite flavor of ice cream?

My nominees:

  1. Aentee @ Read at Midnight
  2. McKenzie @ Bookish Things and Tea
  3. Sammie @ Sammie’s Book Nook
  4. Shannon @ Books That Love You Back
  5. Nat @ An Aussie Bookworm
  6. Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much
  7. Analee @ Book Snacks
  8. Kerry @ kerryberrybooks
  9. Eddie @ eddiesgotabook
  10. Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog

Thank you again Erika for the nomination. Hopefully I picked people who haven’t been nominated before. If you’ve been nominated or don’t feel like accepting the award feel free to ignore it. Happy reading everyone! ❤

11 thoughts on “Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Bloggers Award!”

  1. HAHA I loved the third wish of being able to consume any food you want without getting fat! That’s like every girls dream! Unless you have fast metabolism….

    Wow I’m glad you answered the losing five senses with ease. I still struggle as to which one I would pick to lose. However, your reasons are quite plausible and totally understandable. 🙂

    I personally love The Hunger Games (I read them before they even became popular) but I do feel like it’s overrated now like most books that has film adaptations.

    Oh it’s the first time I find someone that is not a Will and Tessa shipper. I haven’t read the whole series yet only the first one so far, but everyone seems to love the couple. However, to each their own I guess.

    And that’s such a great advice from your cousin. Very deep and meaningful.

    Enjoyed reading your answers! Thank you for answering them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading the post and for tagging me! I haven’t finished The Infernal Devices yet either, but I’ve been spoiled for the third book so.
      I do want to give The Hunger Games another try, but the first time I read it I didn’t even finish it because I found it to be boring. Hopefully I like it the second time around though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome! 🙂

        I feel the same. A majority of the blogs I follow have read the books so it’s difficult not to figure out how the books will end.

        Well no rush on The Hunger Games. I don’t think it’s for everybody especially if you don’t like reading this particular genre. However, if you do give it another chance, I hope you will like it this time around. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool answers! I totally approve of your three wishes; they’re basically mine as well. 😀 And although I myself enjoyed The Hunger Games, I see what you mean about being overrated. And I believe I have Wintergirls on my TBR, can’t wait to read it! ❤ Thanks for the nomination, Emily!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read anything by Laurie Halse Anderson yet but I’ve recently hauled The Impossible Knife of Memory and Speak, so I’m really looking forward to those. And me too! Though I dislike reading love triangles there are a few that I’m really invested in. Like TID. Oh gosh, the feels. However, I’m a Wessa shipper. I ship myself with Jem. 😉 I love him too much!

    Anyway, thanks for the using the logo and linking back, Emily!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

