Book Tag

Book Tag | The Reader Problems Tag

Book Tag

I was tagged to do The Reader Problem Tag by Lia over at Book Land. Let’s just jump right into it!


1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Honestly, I’m obsessed with making lists so I would probably make a lists of all the books and then chose a number at random, and whichever book matched the number I picked that’s what I would read. That’s actually what I’m doing with my ridiculously long TBR right now.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Fun fact: I’m the queen of putting books down and picking them up at a later date. I feel like this helps me avoid reading slumps, because I won’t force myself to read a book that I’m not interested in.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close but so far away on your Goodreads challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I won’t force myself to speed read because all that does is make me not want to read at all. I do the Goodreads challenge for my own enjoyment and satisfaction. I’ll be bummed if I don’t complete it, but there’s always next year.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

Um, I cope fine? I mean, yeah I’d prefer if they matched, and if I have the money I’ll probably re-buy them so they match and look good on my shelf. But it’s not something I stress over. My Vampire Academy books all have different covers, one’s hardcover while the rest are paperbacks, and they were all bought from secondhand shops. It’s not a big deal, really. It adds character to my shelf ๐Ÿ˜›

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

My mom, because we both tend to not really like the books that everyone seems to love.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Just let it out. It is what it is.

7. A sequelย of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you reread the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads?

I’d probably just read the Goodreads synopsis, and if that doesn’t jog my memory then I’ll just read the sequel and hope for the best. I have a lot of books to read, and while I do reread books, I don’t reread books often because my TBR list is really long.

8. You do not want anyone, ANYONE, borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people no when they ask?

My mom actually forbid me from loaning out my books to people because I would always complain to her that they had my book for too long or something. Things really hit the fan when I loaned my cousin An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, and when I asked for it back she was like, “Oh, I loaned it to my friend.”

….

You…

you what?! YOU DIDN’T EVEN ASK IF IT WAS OKAY WITH ME TO LOAN MY STUFF OUT. So I complained to my mom so bad about it that she told me I’m not allowed to let people borrow my books. So when people ask I just tell them no.

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

I stop trying to read and fill my time with something else instead. Forcing myself to read just enhances my reading slump, but if I take a break from reading and just watch some Netflix for a few days I usually find myself with a book in my hand in no time.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read. How many do you actually buy?

Depends on how much money I have.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It depends, to be honest. Sometimes I read them as soon as I buy them, other times they sit on my shelf for days, weeks, months…


So that’s the tag! Tag you’re it…

If you’ve already done this tag, or you just don’t feel like doing it, feel free to ignore it. Happy reading everyone! โค

13 thoughts on “Book Tag | The Reader Problems Tag”

  1. Love your responses! This seems like a fun tag. I totally relate with the loaning out books story, my friend once gave me back a book I lent out to her as a Christmas present a year later. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate it when my covers don’t match. I have the Sookie Stackhouse series and there are 13 books. I made sure to buy all of them from the same publisher and all the spines are black except for book 12, that one has a white spine. I was just like “WHYYYYY?”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol, I was going to get the box set of Vampire Academy but I couldn’t find it without the first book being the movie cover and the rest of the books where the regular covers. So I just bought them all randomly, because that’s better than a movie cover ๐Ÿ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha you’re going to hate me for that, but I often buy the movie covers on purpose. It’s mostly when I’m into one of the actors or actresses and they are on the cover. I think I am pretty alone in this … everyone else I know hates movie covers. But I have to say I don’t buy it for everything, just specific ones.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

