Fun Stuff

Books I Didn’t Read When I Was Younger And Now I Feel Like I’m Missing Out

That’s probably the longest subject line I’ve ever used :D. But seriously guys, I feel like I had a serious misspent youth because so many people have read the books I’m about to list… and I haven’t. Granted, there’s nothing stopping me from reading these books now, however I feel like I’ll be missing out on that childhood magic. Anyhow, here are the books I didn’t read when I was younger, and now I feel like I’m missing out.


1. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

78411

I know,Β I know! The first book came out in 1999 (when I was 3) and the last book came out in 2006 (when I was 10). I’m currently 18, almost 19. There’s no reason that I should have went this long without reading these books. I seen the movie, and I don’t remember too much about it. I’m actually a little disappointed in myself about this. These books are pretty high up on my TBR list.


2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

3

Okay, I can explain this one. The first book came out in 1997, and I was only 1 at the time! The last book came out 2007 and I was 11. I actually grew up with these books always in my life and in my face, both because of the movies and because my older sister was a fan (of course she was). I don’t feel so guilty about this one because I’m currently reading them! I’m on book 4, and in case you’re wondering, I’m a HufflepuffΒ (Pottermore told me so πŸ™‚ )

Question: What Harry Potter house are you?


3. The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black

444304

I got nothing for this. I haven’t even heard of these books until recently. It just upsets me because these books seem right up my alley, and I probably would have really enjoyed them when I was younger. They were released from 2003 – 2004 so I was 7 – 8.


4. Goosbumps by R.L. Stine

H215_SCH_GB1DeadHouse_0.tif

I actually have no interest in reading these at all, I just wish I had when I was younger. The movies used to make me cry though, and my mom made my sister throw her of her Goosebumps VHS tapes in the garbage because they scared me so bad. They were released from 1992 – 1997. Granted, these books mostly came out before I was born, I felt like a lot of children I grew up with read them.


Β 5. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

100915

I seen the movie! And to be fair, I didn’t know they were books until after I seen the movie. Now, I mean, these books where published in the ’50s so I don’t feel too bad for not reading them yet. But still. I seen the first movie. I need to read the books.


Β 6. Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

357664

Did I read this book? Obviously not. Did I see the movie? Nope. Am I going to read the book or see the movie? Probably not. This is just one of those things that I wish I would have done it when I was younger. Plus, the book’s been out for 15 years, I’m a little surprised I haven’t gotten my hands on a copy. But eh.


Β 7. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

2839

This is another instance where I seen the movie and didn’t know that there was a book. I want to read the book really, really bad. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Maybe it’s because subconsciously I know I don’t want to deal with how heartbroken it’ll leave me.


8. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

28187

I got nothing for this one, either. I have no excuse. I love Greek mythology. I liked the first movie. I mean, the books came out in 2005, and now there’s a spin-off series! I’m ashamed. I hope to get to these books as soon as I can.


Β 9. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

8127

*deep sigh* Not only did I not read these as a child, but I never seen the movies either. I know, I’m terrible.


That’s all of the childhood books that I can think of that I haven’t read. Did you read any of these books? Are there any children’s book you haven’t read and now you feel like you’re missing out? Let me know! ❀

27 thoughts on “Books I Didn’t Read When I Was Younger And Now I Feel Like I’m Missing Out”

  1. I totally relate to you on this! Especially the Series of Unfortunate Events. I would also say the same for Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, though I’m not sure if that’s entirely for children. πŸ˜› I’m also on Book 4 of Harry Potter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I literally gasped at the first 5! A Series of Unfortunate Events is my favorite series (Other than HP of course) Spiderwick was really good although I can’t remember if I finished it or not lol Goosebumps were awesome when I was a kid, there are ones where you get to choose how the story plays out so its really fun. I also haven’t read Percy Jackson though. I don’t really know anyone that did so maybe I’ll add to my TBR! This was a great post, very nostalgic

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only read the HP series as a kid. The Percy Jackson series I read through just a month ago, but apart from that I have read none of those books. I think I have the Narnia books on my shelf somewhere πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay, one, you just made me feel old as dirt lol… I’ll be 27 next week. I’ve read Narnia, and I own the Snickett series and the Percy Jackson series (although regrettably, I haven’t read either and they’re not super high on my TBR list. But Harry Potter…. I’m completely obsessed (thus the monthly tribute I just started on my blog last week). I actually think reading them as an adult is to your benefit though. There area so many nuances that really don’t make any sense until you’re older and books 3-7 are a bit dark for the age-group they’re intended for imho. Ravenclaw, btw πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re the same age as my older sister! She’s a Gryffindor though πŸ˜› I’m enjoying reading the HP books now, it just feel like I’m missing out on that childhood amazement that I would have gotten if I had read them when I was younger.

      Like

  5. Ah, I don’t feel so bad. I haven’t read any of these books either when I was a kid. However, I read Percy Jackson a couple months ago and loved it. I recently read the first two Harry Potter books and loved those too. I actually think it’s better than I am reading them when I am older since I’ll appreciate it more (:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I felt like I was literally the only person who didn’t read Harry Potter growing up and it makes me feel so much better knowing others haven’t either. Now I don’t feel like I missed some sort of important rite of passage (;

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have not read any of the books mentioned,with the exception of the Anne Of Green Gables series. I only read those when I was an adult.
    Marilyn

    Like

  7. I don’t think you’ve missed out on that much. I read the Spiderwick, Narna and Terabithia book and mostly enjoyed the movies more than the books (except for maybe the Spiderwick one). However, The Series of Unfortunate Events is one of my all-time favourite book series ever and I cannot wait until the netflix series comes out!

    Like

  8. I haven’t read a lot of these either, I just never got around to the Spiderwick Chronicles and I didn’t even finish the movie. I am in Ravenclaw for my Harry Potter house though πŸ˜€ glad that you are reading them! I am currently doing a read along with some friends on goodreads and even though I have already read them its so fun to re-read and talk about little details in the book with others.

    Like

  9. I know what you feel, but most of the books you’ve mentioned came out already after I grew up πŸ˜€
    I still enjoy them, like Harry Potter or Percy, even Narnia. I never gotten into Anne though, I read the first one in school as a school read but I never really liked them much.

    From the other books – try adding Howl’s moving castle and the rest of the series – lots of fun πŸ˜€ and I really enjoyed City of ember.

    Like

Leave a Reply

