Fun Stuff

My 5 Star Books of 2015

My 5 Star Books of 2015.jpg

I thought it would be fun to share a list of my 5 star books that I read in 2015. This list does not include a list of my favorite books of 2015, as there are some 4 star books that I loved very much. But it’s sort of rare for me to give a book an actual rating of 5 stars so I thought I would share with you all the books that I read this year that made the cut. 🙂


1. Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes by Chris Crutcher

SFFSBSarah Byrnes and Eric have been friends for years. When they were children, his fat and her terrible scars made them both outcasts. Later, although swimming slimmed Eric, she stayed his closest friend.

Now Sarah Byrnes — the smartest, toughest person Eric has ever known — sits silent in a hospital. Eric must uncover the terrible secret she’s hiding, before its dark currents pull them both under. (via Goodreads)

You can read my review here.


2. Stolen by Lucy Christopher

stolenSixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?

The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost. (via Goodreads)

I never did a proper review of this book but just know that I absolutely loved every bit of it. It was gripping and fantastic.


3. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

5680584_origAmy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way. (via Goodreads)

You can read my review here.


4. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

A&DDante can swim. Ari can’t. Dante is articulate and self-assured. Ari has a hard time with words and suffers from self-doubt. Dante gets lost in poetry and art. Ari gets lost in thoughts of his older brother who is in prison. Dante is fair skinned. Ari’s features are much darker. It seems that a boy like Dante, with his open and unique perspective on life, would be the last person to break down the walls that Ari has built around himself.

But against all odds, when Ari and Dante meet, they develop a special bond that will teach them the most important truths of their lives, and help define the people they want to be. But there are big hurdles in their way, and only by believing in each other―and the power of their friendship―can Ari and Dante emerge stronger on the other side. (via Goodreads)

I never did a proper review of this on either, but I absolutely loved this book so so much.


5. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

viciousA masterful tale of ambition, jealousy, desire, and superpowers. Victor and Eli started out as college roommates?brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find?aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge?but who will be left alive at the end? In Vicious, V. E. Schwab brings to life a gritty comic-book-style world in vivid prose: a world where gaining superpowers doesn’t automatically lead to heroism, and a time when allegiances are called into question. (via Goodreads)

You can read my review here.


6. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

18879761When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

I Was Here is Gayle Forman at her finest, a taut, emotional, and ultimately redemptive story about redefining the meaning of family and finding a way to move forward even in the face of unspeakable loss. (via Goodreads)

I like Gayle Forman’s writing; it’s so breezy and easy to digest.
I Was Here was such a good book. I found it enjoyable and sad at the same time. I enjoyed seeing the character development between Cody and her mom. I had a small issue with the romance, but it wasn’t such a problem that it kept me from enjoying the book. I thought the book was fantastic and it made it to my favorites shelf.


So there, ya have it – my 5 star books of 2015.

To stay up to date on my other ratings feel free to add me on Goodreads 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “My 5 Star Books of 2015”

  1. I’ve read I Was Here too! It was a really good read. I don’t think I liked it as much as you did, but it was pretty enjoyable. And the other books you have here sound really interesting. Definitely going to check them out whenever I have the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

