Let's Discuss

Let’s Discuss | Goodreads

Let's Discuss - new

I decided to include a new feature on my blog – discussion posts! I’d love to get to know everyone more and I’d love to hear your opinions on bookish things. For my first discussion post I thought I would talk about something I’m pretty sure all of us are acquainted with: Goodreads.


For those of you who don’t know, Goodreads is a social media platform that was made for bookworms to be bookworms. It’s like a bookish Facebook. I happen to be a pretty big fan of the site, and I check it/update it daily. I like using the website to catalog my books and to discover new books. I also follow some of my favorite BookTubers on there. Goodreads has many perks, one of which includes the yearly reading challenge.

The only complaint I have about it is that sometimes I feel like the reviewers on Goodreads can be pretty harsh. There’s a difference between giving a book a negative review and just flat out bashing the book and/or the author, and I feel like the reviewers on that blog cross that line a lot. That being said, though, I feel like you can always count on the reviews to be honest.

Oh yeah! And I wish they would add a “re-read” option because, hey, sometimes a book is too good to read just once.

Those two things aside, I really like Goodreads. I like knowing what people are reading and I’ve found a lot of really cool books through there. I like that they also have giveaways. It’s a great opportunity to win free books. I love the list feature, too, because they help me find books I probably wouldn’t have heard of otherwise.

How do you feel about the site? Do you have any complaints? Anything about the site that you absolutely love? Let’s discuss 🙂

P.S. You can all feel free to add me on Goodreads here 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss | Goodreads”

  1. dude. a few things- I love this idea. I think it’s so cool to have discussions! I actually love goodreads too, it lets me keep track of my book! and lastly, most importantly, I just saw your user and your middle. name. is. nicole. MY NAME IS EMILY NICOLE TOO LIKE WTF R WE THE SAME PERSON??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love using Goodreads! I agree with you about the reread option though. And I think there should be half star ratings. Quite a lot of the time I’ll have to write “Rated 4.5/5 stars” (for example) in bold before even writing the review just so that people know I rated it somewhere in between. But I do catalogging all my books onto shelves and updating my reading status ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, great post – and definitely a good topic to kick things off.

    I second the re-read option and after seeing the comment above, I think half star ratings would be good as well – it’d be nice to be able to line up my blog star ratings with my Goodreads ones.
    Aside from these things, I love the site. It’s great to be able to keep track of all the books I’ve read and would like to read. I’ve also found that since I started using it a few years ago, that my reading tastes have expanded, thanks to the suggestions that pop up and being able to connect with other readers on there. It’s made my reading life A LOT easier!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I am so glad that I made Goodreads back in 2013. It’s so nice to be able to keep track of all the books you read and want to read. And connect with other people that love to read as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the site, but you have made some good points! I think sometimes Goodreads is weird though, like it won’t let me delete books from my shelf or it puts it in there twice for some reason. The re-reading option would be nice as well.
    All in all, I am really glad I am on Goodreads though. It lets me see what my friends are reading and/or how they have rated something. I think that’s really helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think Goodreads is a fantastic idea. I’m not huge on the social media aspects. However, I love being able to scan all my owned books with the Goodreads app so I know which editions I have and can sort them into neat little lists for myself to look at later. These personal lists are also fantastic for off-Goodreads reading challenges. I’m able to make lists so I know which book counts for which challenge and which books I’ve completed for the challenge. ^.^

    And I think you’d find ‘harsh’ and, dare I say ‘ignorant’ reviews on any site that allows people to leave comments. No doubt Amazon has a few, as well. That being said, those reviews shouldn’t be taken into account anyway because they don’t take the actual book into account, but rather bash the author. Even if they do say they don’t like the book, their remarks aren’t fleshed out or explained, which makes them sound ignorant and just hateful. Sad really. That’s not even a review in my opinion. It’s soap-boxing.

    Still, I quite enjoy having Goodreads and I’m very happy I came across it in the past year. I hope to find more awesome bookish/blogging sites like this in 2016! Thanks for the discussion post! These are so fun! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

