Book Review

Book Review | First & Then by Emma Mills

f&t

Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights in this contemporary novel about falling in love with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself. (via Goodreads)

 


Title: First & Then

Author: Emma Mills

Published:Β October 13th 2015 by Henry Holt and Co.

Rating: 3Β stars

Review:Β I wanted to like this more than I did. I really, really did. But, ugh.

In the beginning the writing in First & Then was just plain boring. It didn’t really have that hook that really reels you in. The characters in this book were flat. Devon as a character was kind of eye-roll worthy. She actually aggravated me to no end. I found her to be a little pretentious because she read Jane Austen novels, so she thought that put her a step up from everyone, and was kind of mean to her cousin, Foster, for no reason. Throughout the novel she’s constantly thinking “Jane would do this, Jane would do that” and I found that to be annoying. I liked Foster, but I still found him to be boring. The other didn’t do anything to make me care about him. He was just there.

Towards the end of the book Devon became a little less eye-roll worthy and more relatable as a character. I never really found myself liking her though. I just felt like she lacked any depth. I really liked Foster though, and I enjoyed Devon’s friends – with the exception of Cas. I liked him until I didn’t. The writing definitely picked up and I found myself enjoying the book. First & Then was predictable, but I don’t hold that to a fault because you can tell from the description that it’s going to be predictable. It was sort of bittersweet towards the end.

Overall, I found the book to be okay.

I just thought since it was a contemporary, and I’m a huge fan of contemporaries, that I would like it more.

Book Depository

6 thoughts on “Book Review | First & Then by Emma Mills”

  1. I’m actually planning on buying this book soon! I’ve read some pretty “bad” reviews about this book, but I’m still excited to see what I’ll think about this book and see if my opinion is the same, or different!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

