Book Review

Book Review | All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

atbp

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. (via Goodreads)


Title: All the Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Published: January 6th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Note: This book has a trigger warning for depression and suicide.

Rating: 5 stars

Review: I want to make one thing clear about this book: I didn’t intend on reading it. I mean, I did intend on reading it eventually – hence why I bought it – but I hadn’t meant on reading it yet. But I opened the book and read the first sentence and next thing I knew I was on chapter 5 and had no intentions of stopping. The writing in this book sucked me in. I mean, it really just absorbed me. Jennifer Niven is a fantastic writer and she really knows how to pace her stories.

The main characters in this book, while they were a little pretentious, were still enjoyable. I fell in love with Finch immediately. I love the way he talks and the way he thinks. It didn’t take me long to take a liking to Violet either. Jennifer Niven wrote characters that were so multidimensional. I liked the side characters, too. I thought Violet’s parents were really nice, and you can tell that they were really trying to help Violet and be there for her. I liked reading about Finch’s family, too. I thought his family dynamic was interesting, although I actually hated his parents, especially his mother, towards the end.

I liked when Finch and Violet would interact with each other, like over their Facebook posts. I really found myself rooting for them throughout the book. I also loved the alternating perspectives; but I’m probably biased because I always enjoy alternating perspectives.

I just… wow. This book made me feel all the feels, and I don’t want to start rambling, but I really enjoyed this book, and it’s one of my new favorites.

Buy this book from Book Depository

1 thought on “Book Review | All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven”

Leave a Reply

