Fun Stuff

Books On My DNF Shelf

Books I DNF

So today I thought I would do a fun post for you guys, and talk about the book on my “did not finish” shelf on Goodreads.


1) From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

24976493 I didn’t finish this book at 20% – Chapter 8. I thought the plot sounded good, and I thought it would be an awesome alien novel. Unfortunately, I was wrong. While the premise of the book seemed exciting, the writing of From a Distant Star was boring and juvenile. The alien absorbed into the dog and then transferred into Lucas… that sounds like something my little sister would read. I also felt emotionally distant from the character and found myself not caring for any of them. I didn’t like the character interactions. I also felt the writing was a little tacky. Maybe I’ll pick this book up later on a give it another go, but for now I really didn’t enjoy it.


2) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

23666139 I added this book to my “did not finish” shelf because I just wasn’t really feeling the story very much. I definitely want to pick the book back up though, because Sarah J. Maas has a huge fan base and her books receive a lot of high praise.

 

 


3) Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

9480425 I really feel like I’m in the minority of people who just didn’t care for this book at all. I have no desire to pick Water for Elephants back up. I thought this book was so incredibly boring and it was taking me forever to get through.

 

 


4) Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

901 I had to read this for school junior year and I truly hated it. I wanted to like it so bad, but I just couldn’t get into it. I really gave it an honest effort, I read 10 chapters I think. I ended up reading the Sparknotes so that I could pass the test.

 

 


5) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2767052 Every time I tried to read this book I ended up falling asleep. I just didn’t really care for the writing I guess. I didn’t care for the movies either. I’m not really into dystopians.

 

 


6) Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria

18140047 I wanted to like this book so much, but I found it so boring. It was a little too similar to The Perks of Being a Wallflower for me to properly enjoy it. It just dragged a bit too much for me.

 

 


7) Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

10365 I had to read this for school when I was in 8th grade and it was so agonizingly terrible. I don’t even remember what it’s about, I just remember that I didn’t finish it and I watched the (equally as terrible) movie to pass the test.

 

 


8) And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

16299 This was another book I had to read for school, in 7th grade, and I just… didn’t like it. Agatha Christie isn’t my style. 😛

 

 

 


9) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

18131 Yet another book read for school that was absolutely terrible. The movie wasn’t bad though.

 

 

 


Those are the books I DNF’d. How do you feel about DNF-ing books? I try not to, but if I feel like a book is turning reading into a chore for me I’ll put it aside.

That’s all I have for this post today. Happy Reading everyone! ❤

2 thoughts on “Books On My DNF Shelf”

Leave a Reply

