Book Review

Book Review | My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

26795352 Edward (long live the king) is the King of England. He’s also dying, which is inconvenient, as he’s only sixteen and he’d much rather be planning for his first kiss than considering who will inherit his crown…

Jane (reads too many books) is Edward’s cousin, and far more interested in books than romance. Unfortunately for Jane, Edward has arranged to marry her off to secure the line of succession. And there’s something a little odd about her intended…

Gifford (call him G) is a horse. That is, he’s an Eðian (eth-y-un, for the uninitiated). Every day at dawn he becomes a noble chestnut steed—but then he wakes at dusk with a mouthful of hay. It’s all very undignified.

The plot thickens as Edward, Jane, and G are drawn into a dangerous conspiracy. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, our heroes will have to engage in some conspiring of their own. But can they pull off their plan before it’s off with their heads? (via Goodreads)


Title: My Lady Jane

Authors: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Published: June 7th 2016 by HarperTeen

Genre: YA, historical fiction, fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

Review: I know very little about British history, and I’ve never read anything by Hand, Ashton, or Meadows, but this book seemed pretty interesting and the reviews seemed pretty positive. So I picked up My Lady Jane and just jumped right in. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

The writing in My Lady Jane was very unique in that the narrators address the reader directly, which I really liked. It was really funny and made me actually laugh out loud. All of the characters had a piece of sarcasm to them that was always very tastefully done. My Lady Jane is written from three perspectives, all written with a different voice – mainly because each author was responsible for one characters. I feel like the authors took a chance doing that, and with some people that wouldn’t work, but their writing worked well together and really seemed to flow.

The characters in this novel were perfectly written. My favorite character was Jane, I absolutely adored her. I liked the way she talked, thought, acted, all of it. I feel like any hardcore book lover can relate to Jane on some level. She was a fun character to read about. This isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy Edward and Gifford; I definitely did. I felt like they were original and fresh. Sometimes with multiple perspectives you can run into the issue of that one character’s perspective that you sort of have to suffer through, but you don’t get that with this book. All three perspectives are important and appreciated.

I called what the “dangerous conspiracy” would be before it happened, but I liked how the narrators called out their own cliché, making the predictability a little less predictable and more funny.

The romance in My Lady Jane was great; there’s definitely no insta-love here. It was slow and took a bit to build up, and when it blossoms your heart will explode.

I hope Hand, Ashton, and Meadows consider rewriting history in another novel, because this book was everything.

5 thoughts on “Book Review | My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows”

  1. I keep seeing photos of this book anywhere but haven’t actually seen a review yet, so this (and the fact it’s historical fiction) is really tempting me to pick it up! Lovely review! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

