Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Books I Feel Differently About

Top Ten Tuesday - new

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week is a different Top Ten topic. This week is a freebie week, so I decided to do a topic I had missed from a few weeks ago, which was Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed.

The first 5 books are books I would re-rate higher, and the last 5 are books I would re-rate lower.


1. An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes #1) – Sabaa Tahir

an-ember-in-the-ashes-by-sabaa-tahir

When I first read An Ember in the Ashes it blew me away and I became hooked quickly. As time went on I’ve become an even bigger fan of the book and I’m very excited to read A Torch Against the Night.

Original Rating: 4/5

New Rating: 5/5


2. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) – Marissa Meyer

13206828

After finishing the series last December I’ve had plenty of time to reflect back on it. My feeling towards all of the book have stayed the same, except for Cress. I definitely think this book was the strongest in the series and I fell in love with Cress and Thorne right away.

Original Rating: 4/5

New Rating: 5/5


3. Landline – Rainbow Rowell

landlineLandline is one of Rainbow Rowell’s adult novels, and it took me until after I rated the book to fully absorb how great of a book this was.

Original Rating: 3/5

New Rating: 4/5


4. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

tkam

I was forced to read TKAM when I was in my sophomore year of high school and I’ve pretty much been singing its praises ever since. I really enjoyed reading this book, and the more I think and talk about it, the more I fall in love with it. Atticus Finch is my book dad. Is that a thing?

Original Rating: 4/5

New Rating: 5/5


5. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

16068905

I don’t know why I ever thought one of Rowell’s YA novels ever deserved less than a perfect rating, honestly.

Original Rating: 4/5

New Rating: 5/5


6. And We Stay – Jenny Hubbard

aws

I really liked this book when I had read it but whenever I think about it I think about nothing in this book particularly stood out to me. While I enjoyed the characters and the writing I have issues remembering exactly how the story played out. I think And We Stay is more deserving of 3 stars though, because I did really enjoy the book. There’s a lot packed into it’s small number of pages.

Original Rating: 4/5

New Rating: 3/5


7. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

tfiosThis one might come as a surprise to some. When I read TFiOS back in 2013 I thought John Green was a literary genius and I didn’t think I was ever going to find a book that would make me feel things the way this book did.

And then I read other books. Better books. And I re-read TFiOS since 2013. Honestly, while TFiOS is a great book, I think it might have been a little overhyped.

Original Rating: 5/5

New Rating: 3/5


8. Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) – Leigh Bardugo

10194157I truthfully forgot a lot that happened in this book. I own the other two, and I really, really want to finish the series, but I honestly probably won’t. I really didn’t care for the writing style. I liked the characters though, so maybe I will try to continue with this series. I’m not sure, I’m conflicted.

Original Rating: 3/5

New Rating: 2/5


9. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith

tspolfsNothing about this book blew me away. While there were really cute aspects of this story I found myself skimming a lot of the book, as some parts dragged. As time goes on I’m becoming less and less interested in reading anything else by Jennifer E. Smith.

Original Rating: 3/5

New Rating: 2/5


10. We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

wwl

I really don’t get the hype around this book. I didn’t find it nearly as mind-blowing or spectacular as most people did. I found it be a quick and somewhat forgettable read. I think what kept it from being 2 stars originally was the ending; I truly didn’t see that coming and I thought it was a pretty unique plot twist. However, I still had an empty feeling when I was finished reading, and I couldn’t help feeling “that’s it” about it all.

Original Rating: 3/5

New Rating: 2/5


There’s my TTT of the week. Let me know if you would re-rate any of these books!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Books I Feel Differently About”

    1. they both got some hype, especially We Were Liars, and I wanted to like them so bad. I think maybe that’s why I rated them higher than what I felt they deserved. I’m glad you agree though, it’s always reassuring when someone else shares your unpopular opinion 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

