Let's Discuss

Let’s Discuss | Writing Negative Reviews

Let's Discuss - new

This topic discussion is something that I’ve briefly talked to other bloggers about and something I’ve also discussed with my mom. I thought it would be a good idea to open the topic up for all of you, to see how you guys feel. I want to talk about writing negative reviews.


When I read a book that I love and that I deem 4 or 5 stars I can’t wait to go on my nifty little book blog and sing its high praises. I honestly get  so excited to share with everyone the excellent book I’ve just read, and I want everyone that reads my blog to read that amazing book and experience the excellency first hand. When I read a book that I feel is 3 stars or less, I get a completely different feeling regarding the review I’m going to write.

I’m not going to lie, sometimes I really debate on whether or not I’m even going to write a “meh” or negative review about a book, because they make me nervous. As I’m writing it I sometimes wonder if I’m being too critical of the book and I in no way want to offend anyone – the readers of the book or the author them self – with my review.

It also makes me nervous to have an unpopular opinion because obviously the majority liked the book for a reason. I’ve even been known to bump a rating of a book just because I wanted to like it as much as everyone else seemed to. I want to keep my reviews honest, though, which is why I’ve been trying to be more comfortable writing reviews, whether they be 1 star or 5 stars. One thing I do that helps me with this little struggle is to make sure I highlight some of the good in the novel before I talk about what I didn’t like.

The little bit of anxiety I get from writing negative reviews is something I’m going to have to continue to work on, but I’m definitely interested in seeing what everyone else thinks. So let me know! 🙂

19 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss | Writing Negative Reviews”

  1. I always feel weird giving a book a 3 or lower rating and then posting links as to where you can find out more about it book and buy it… But I guess just because I didn’t like the book doesn’t mean somebody else wont

    Liked by 1 person

    1. there have been times where I’ve actually recommended 3 or lower rating books to people because just because I didn’t like it doesn’t mean it’s not exactly what someone else is looking for. I see where you’re coming from 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For me it totally depends on why I didn’t like the book. If the book just wasn’t for me, I’m comfortable saying that. If the book is sexist, racist, classist, or otherwise offensive, I’d be more nervous…but I think these conversations are equally important to have. For example, I felt the Magicians promoted rape culture and treated its women terribly…even though a ton of people loved it! I think writing a review pointing out problematic elements is nerve wracking but not necessarily insulting to the author? It’s like saying, hey I appreciate your writing but you can do better. Let’s talk how.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I write rant reviews but that’s also part of my blog theme. I either rant or rave over a book. I don’t usually post reviews for books I think are mediocre. In my experience, people like reading negative reviews, especially when it’s a common book everyone agrees on. They have higher pages view than books I actually enjoyed. But I’ve also posted rants for books people like and they still read them with no arguments. I think as long as you make a valid point as to why you didn’t like the book people will respond to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I only started my blog this month, and I am actually in the midst of writing my first review, which is actually a very negative one. The book is actually the only book I have ever read and hated, and despite being a little nervous about upsetting someone, I’m not too fussed about uploading the review. I think this is because I really didn’t like the book, and am glad to now have a platform to express my feelings, whether good or bad. If it were I book that I simply felt ‘meh’ about, I’d likely be less inclined to write a review, as I probably wouldn’t care enough to do so. Personally, I only plan to write reviews on books that actually elicited a response in me, whether positive or negative. Obviously everyone has different values and beliefs, and we have just as much right to share our negative opinions on a book, as others do to write rave reviews on that same book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t feel bad giving a low rating to loved-by-all book. Sometimes it makes me wonder when will the fans get me 😉
    As for reviews, no book is perfect even if with some we simply don’t want to see the bad parts. If you can find them I think it’ś good to point them out both to the other readers and to the author’s. The latter could use this to make their next books better.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Whenever I write a low rated review, I do get that “oh god…” thought before starting, but really that’s about as much as I worry. I always just remember that the book community is a friendly place, so as long as you’re not downright rude about a book/it’s author, everyone will understand that no book is for everyone. I’m always saying “just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean you won’t!” because – well, it’s true!
    Sometimes though, I actually feel a tiny bit of relief when I rate a book lower, because then it shows I’m an honest reviewer and my ratings are more varied. Weird way to see it, but it works!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes I get a tiny bit of relief when I see another blogger rate a book lower because it makes me think they’re an honest reviewer, like you said about being one. That’s what I remind myself with when I write an unpopular opinion type of review. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. i actually love this. i used to review books on goodreads, but the reviews were so visible that i hated writing negative ones just on the off chance that an author might see it and feel like their hard work was disregarded… but its totally important to be genuine when expressing your opinion as well 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I only give negative reviews for poor editing and confusing stories that leave you having to flip back to previous chapters. Leaving a poor review, because you didn’t care for a storyline is just wrong. I agree with posting what positive points you can glean from the experience, and stating that it wasn’t to you’re taste.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

