Fun Stuff

Books I Thought Were Over-hyped

Over-hyped Books

Over-hyped books will be the death of us. There’s nothing worse than hearing how incredible a book is and getting yourself hyped up to embrace all of the hype that book or series has, just to be dropped flat on your face. I’ve fallen victim to over-hyped books many times as a reader. Here are some books I feel are over-hyped.


The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

I read the first four books in The Mortal Instruments and the first two books in The Infernal Devices. I haven’t even looked at the synopsis for Lady Midnight. I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve put these books on hold until further notice. I just personally got tired of being in the Shadowhunter world. It’s so complex, and the books are so big. I feel like I’ve devoted enough time to these books already, and if I’m being honest The Mortal Instruments should have ended after book 3.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile you know already that I’m not a big fan of dystopian fiction and I think The Hunger Games is as hyped up as they come. I never finished the first book and I really have no desire to. I’ve never even seen the second and third (and fourth?) movies.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

While I did like this book more than The Hunger Games I still didn’t see the attraction. I’m just really not into the whole “the government is corrupt so the people must unite to overthrow said government.” I gave Divergent 3 stars and I might’ve continued on with the series had I had not been massively spoiled with Allegiant.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

wwl

I’ve seen other people talk about how this book was a let down for them, too, so I know I’m not alone in this one. I felt like We Were Liars really left me hanging and I just wasn’t as blown away as everyone else was.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

3143160_orig

The book was a good psychological thriller with two extremely unlikable protagonists. That’s pretty much how I sum up Gone Girl whenever someone asks me about it. I didn’t like it or not like it. I definitely feel like Gone Girl had it’s faults, but I mainly feel like the fact that I felt so detached from Flynn’s writing style is what kept me from enjoying it fully. That, and the fact that I definitely feel like it didn’t have to be as long as it was.

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

ms

I’m going to give Colleen Hoover another chance but I really wasn’t all that blown away with Maybe Someday. I had some issues with the main characters that really kept me from enjoying them. The ending was really good though. I’m hoping that I have better luck with a different Hoover novel.

The Wrath and the Dawn by RenΓ©e Ahdieh

I’m still reading The Rose and the Dagger, but seeing as how I’m a little more than halfway done with it, and I’m not enjoying it, I’m officially ruling this duology over-hyped. I definitely see the appeal, though, and I think The Wrath and the Dawn was a good start to the story but the second installment was… well… I’ll have a review up of the second book semi-soon.


These are books that I’ve read that I felt were over-hyped. What books do you think are over-hyped?

Happy reading! ❀

16 thoughts on “Books I Thought Were Over-hyped”

  1. I get exactly what you mean by The Mortal Instruments; they should have ended at the third book… And overhyped books can be just awful because everyone sees it as great and meanwhile, you don’t feel the same way (to put it mildly)…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve owned a copy of Wrath and the Dawn for a while now but continue to eye it sideways, afraid of being disappointed after All The Hype. I will read it eventually, but it sounds as if maybe Ahdieh should’ve had ended the story with book one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally feel like too much hype can ruin a book because it builds it up too much. I definitely went into Gone Girl with very high hopes; my 12th grade English teacher said she can see Gillian Flynn being the new Stephen King! I don’t see it, but hey, to each their own, right? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

