Emily Gets Personal, Fun Stuff

25 Bookish Facts About Me!

25 bookish

Hey everyone! I’m currently on vacation in Wisconsin this week so I decided to schedule a few posts for you guys. Today I thought it would be fun if I told you guys 25 book related facts about me. I saw this going around BookTube for a while and I thought it was a fun way to tell you guys more things about me. So here we go 🙂


Fact 1: I love books that have deckle edges. I know some people hate them and some people don’t care either way, but I love when books have them. I think they add so much character to the book.

Fact 2: Between physical copies and ebooks I have over 300 (or just about) unread books.

Fact 3: I doggy ear my pages sometimes because I lose bookmarks like it’s nobody’s business. I’m sorry for the heart attacks this fact has caused.

Fact 4: My top 3 favorite books are To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee), The Book Thief (Markus Zusak), and The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton).

Fact 5: I have a hard time reading classics because I don’t understand what they’re saying. I read The Great Gatsby and I definitely need to read it again because all I did was struggle.

Fact 6: Every time I walk into a Barnes & Noble I always take a really deep breath so I can capture the aroma of all the perfect unread books.

Fact 7: I don’t read novellas in series because I don’t find them relevant or count them as real books.

Fact 8: I have a really hard time finishing series because I just have a short character attention span and I get bored of them. (For an example of all of my unfinished series you can click here and here).

Fact 9: I hate when people read to me. I can’t absorb the information that’s being presented to me and I end up having to read it myself anyway. Needless to say, I don’t listen to audiobooks.

Fact 10: I have the Barnes & Noble leather-bound editions of Dracula, Frankenstein, Peter Pan, the complete works of Edgar Allen Poe, seven Jane Austen novels, The Wizard of Oz, Wicked / Son of a Witch, The Scarlet Letter, and Grimm’s Fairy Tales.

Fact 11: If I’m reading a hardcover book I take the dust jacket off and read without it. It’s annoying to read with it on.

Fact 12: When I’m reading a book I plan to review on I take notes while reading.

Fact 13: I’m that person at a bookstore that, if I see someone in the same aisle as me looking at a book / series that I love, I will gush to that complete stranger about why they should buy that book / series.

Fact 14: I have a hard time reading a book if I’ve seen the movie first.

Fact 15: I don’t like to eat or drink anything while I’m reading because I don’t want to risk making a mess.

Fact 16: I have pulled numerous all-nighters to finish books, leaving me dead in the morning. But I’ve never regretted it.

Fact 17: I have actually been at social events where I have wondered off, found a quiet corner, and pulled out a book.

Fact 18: I really want the words “books and cleverness” tattooed on me, and the little stars that are on the corners of the HP pages.

Fact 19: Speaking of Harry Potter, I took the Pottermore quiz back before I even read the books and was sorted into Hufflepuff. I took it again when I heard Pottermore was revamped and was sorted back into Hufflepuff. So I’m a Hufflepuff through and through 🙂

Fact 20: I typically like to read contemporaries in the summer and fantasies in the winter. My reasoning behind this is that summertime is time for happiness and fluffiness – which I get from contemporaries – and wintertime is time for long, magical books because I always just associate winter with magic.

Fact 21: I take book recommendations seriously and I always intend to read the books recommended to me, it’s just that.. well… I’m a poor college kid and can’t always afford books. 😛

Fact 22: I’ve gotten in trouble at school before for reading instead of paying attention to the lesson.

Fact 23: I’m a member of a monthly subscription book box called Uppercase.

Fact 24: A book trope that I will never get tired of is those relationships where two people don’t like each other but they’re forced to work together or something and they slowly begin to care about each other and eventually love each other. I love reading about relationships like that. Super cute 🙂

Fact 25: If I could find a career that just required me to read books all day I would promptly drop out of college and happily begin my career as professional book reader. Until that becomes a thing, looks like I’m staying in school and getting a real career 😛


It was harder than I thought it was to come up with 25 bookish facts about myself. Maybe one day I’ll tackle the 50 Random Facts challenge, but in the meantime I leave you guys with this. I hope you guys enjoyed this post, and please let me know if we have anything in common.

Happy reading everyone! 🙂

1 thought on “25 Bookish Facts About Me!”

Leave a Reply

