Book Review

Book Review | This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

tss Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.

August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.

Their city is divided.

Their city is crumbling.

Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.

But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which? (via Goodreads)


Title: This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)

Author: Victoria Schwab

Published: July 5th, 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Review: Victoria Schwab is a blessing to readers everywhere and if you haven’t read a book by Schwab then you need to pick up a book by her and read it immediately.

That being said, I really thought that I was going to like this book so much more than I did.

For starters, I started this book back in July 2016; I put the book down before I left for vacation and honestly had no desire to pick it back up until recently. Nearly a year later.

I really liked the two main characters, Kate and August. I liked that Kate was such a badass and she was smart. I liked that August was so precious.

I just feel like I couldn’t connect as well with the writing in this book, despite the fact that the writing was honestly really well done. I can’t really put my finger on it, but I feel like something was really lacking within the story. What was (I’m assuming) supposed to be a plot twist I didn’t find that shocking. I felt like the supporting characters were flat.

This Savage Song gets 3 stars for creativity, writing, and world-building. I also really liked that there wasn’t any romance in the book – that was such a breath of fresh air.

I just feel like maybe this one was a little overhyped.

Leave a Reply

