Book Review

Book Review | Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18741728 It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what? (via Goodreads)


Title: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

Published: May 6th 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Another summer, another Mogan Matson book. And I gotta say: I’m not disappointed.

I honestly couldn’t be happier when it comes to Matson’s writing. She knows how to create characters that are so multidimensional and she definitely knows how to properly pace her stories. I eat her books up.

I thought the concept of the story was very original, and I was interested in how Emily was going to complete the tasks on the list. It was interesting watching Emily come out of her shell and become a more outgoing person. I personally loved the scene where Emily and her friends went skinny-dipping. I found the friendship between Emily and Sloane to be very relatable; it reminded me a lot of the friendship I have with my best friend in certain aspects.

Although I was interested in seeing how Emily completed the list Sloane left behind I was a little more interested in finding out where Sloane went and why she left without telling Emily where she was going. I was glad when we finally go resolution with that.

I was – and still am – a little unsure on the romance in Since You’ve Been Gone. Naturally, you knew Frank would become Emily’s love interest. You knew before Emily knew. I can’t really put my finger on it but something about the relationship felt a little off to me.

I loved the reference to Amy Curry from Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour in here. I love when authors hide Easter eggs like that in their stories.

I enjoyed reading Since You’ve been Gone, but I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour or Second Chance Summer. This was still the perfect summer read though, and, as always, I can’t wait to read more by Matson.

Leave a Reply

