Book Review

Book Review | Wonder by R.J. Palacio

wonderI won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels. (via Goodreads)


Title: Wonder

Author: R.J. Palacio

Published: February 14th 2012 by Knopf

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5

Review: This book was amazing.

I’ll start off by saying that the writing in Wonder was so breezy and effortless. It was such a simple read that packs such a strong message. I think this book perfectly captures that kids can be cruel and they can also be a lot stronger than they seem.

I liked reading the different perspectives within the novel. I liked reading from August’s perspective the most but I also enjoyed reading from Via’s. I liked being able to see the whole impact of August’s condition, not just on Auggie, but on those around him, too.

Via’s POV was really insightful because you were able to get a better understanding as to where she was coming from with her anger and it was nice to see the story from her side. I also felt like the changing perspectives helped with the pacing of the story.

The character development in Wonder was great; you watch August go from this shy self-conscious kid as he grows to find himself and become more comfortable around the other kids in his class. Jack Will and Via had some pretty nice character development, too, with both of them dealing with the effects of August in different ways, while also navigating their own lives.

This is a great book for all ages. I thought I would have a little trouble connecting to the characters because they’re all 10 but it surprisingly wasn’t an issue at all. I actually found Auggie’s friend Summer to be really relatable.

There were times where the book made me laugh, made me angry, and even made me sad. But, all in all, this was a fantastic read.

I definitely feel like this book opened my eyes to just how cruel the world can be and why it’s so important to remember to choose kindness.

Leave a Reply

