Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey, hosted by Sam, where you’re given a new topic every week and you’re to make a post discussing the books you chose for that topic.

Here is the T5W Goodreads group in case you’re interested in checking it out for yourself and/or are interested in joining in.

This topic is so fun to me because a little while ago (actually more than a little while ago – it was back in 2015) I made a post about books that I didn’t read when I was younger that now make me feel like I missed out (you can check that post out here). Now I can talk about books I did read during my childhood. I’m so excited for all the feelings of nostalgia I’m going to have.


9582771. Junie B. Jones series by Barbara Park

I think it’s pretty safe to say that Junie B. Jones is the reason I loved to read so much as a child. I would fly through these books. If my parents weren’t able to get me the next one I would just reread the ones I had until I got the new one. Junie B. Jones will always have a special place in my heart.

9306122. Judy Moody series by Megan McDonald

When I became a little too old to enjoy Junie B. Jones, I ventured into Judy Moody territory. I don’t remember too much of these books, but I know that I did really enjoy them. (Though, to little me, nothing stacked up to Junie B. Jones.)

 

1569703. Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene 

I read Nancy Drew and I read the Hardy Boys, and it wouldn’t feel right if I didn’t include them on a list of my childhood reads. I wasn’t a die-hard fan of either series, but I do remember I was trying to collect all the Nancy Drew books at one point in my childhood.

 

4380244. Dear Dumb Diary series by Jim Benton

I got into these books when I was in 5th grade and, as an angsty 10-year-old, I never related a character in a book more than I related to Jamie Kelly.

 

 

7740015. Amelia Bedelia series by Peggy Parish

For the last book series on this list, I’m really digging deep into my childhood. I read Amelia Bedelia books a little before I discovered the world of Junie B. Jones (I’m telling ya, those books changed my life) and as a kid, I remember always thinking Amelia Bedelia was so dumb. Which, of course, was hilarious to little me.

 


What were some of your favorite childhood reads?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books”

  1. OMG yesss hi5 with the Amelia bedelia and Junie B Jones! Even though I love Junie B Jones, she didn’t make my top 5 but Junie B Jones, Wayside Stories and Horrible Harry were definitely close. I loved Dear Dumb Diary as well, she was comedy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

